A PASTOR’S RESPONSE TO PASTORS TONY EVANS AND ROBERT MORRIS MORAL FAILINGS

I feel so much grief about the Christian Post articles about Pastor Robert Morris of Gateway Church and the one earlier about Pastor Tony Evans. Here are the links if you have not read them: https://www.christianpost.com/news/pastor-robert-morris-confesses-to-moral-failure.html and https://www.christianpost.com/news/pastor-tony-evans-steps-away-from-oak-cliff-bible-fellowship.html

I attended Dallas Theological Seminary in the mid90’s. I am a graduate of Dallas Theological Seminary. I have been a pastor now at Vanguard Church in Colorado Springs for the past 27 years. 

Two years ago, I released a book with Vide Press called “The Good Pastor.” The book was primarily endorsed by Dr. John Hannah of DTS. When I was a student there, Dr. Hannah would say, “You want to be great for God?” I would sit up in my chair and audible under my breath, “Yes!” He would then say, “Don’t quit, don’t fornicate, and you will be the only one left and you will be great.” I sat back in my chair and said to myself, “Is that really it? Is that really all there is to being great for God?”

Sadly, it turns out Dr. Hannah was right. Seven years ago, I believe the Lord spoke a prophetic word to me about a particular pastor. I attempted to reach out to that pastor and sadly it ended with his elders threatening me. At that same time in 2017, the Lord Jesus also said to me, “A network of pastors will fall.” And sadly, that has been the case, especially since the pandemic. I am beginning to wonder if there will be anyone left after this season of purging that God is taking His church through. 

Many of these stories are very similar in nature. They involve sin from years ago with an NDA or attempt of an NDA attached to them. Maybe you are unfamiliar with NDAs. Here is a Christian Post article I wrote on it a few years ago: https://www.christianpost.com/voices/why-churches-should-stop-paying-hush-money.html

In the process of getting The Good Pastor book published, I reached out to Dr. Evans. He was the first African American to receive his doctorate from DTS. He used to speak at chapel when I was a student there in the 90s. I loved his teaching style and his tenacity to stand strong on the Word of God. Sadly, he declined my request to endorse the Good Pastor book.

Recently he stepped down as the Pastor of Oak Cliff Bible Church due to sin that occurred years ago. He refuses to publicly acknowledge it but did say he did not commit a crime in what he did. His cryptic approach to his public confession of his sin has sent the Christian community into a tailspin of speculation and many wonder if he was forced to confess or at best why now? Unfortunately, it is unknown and appears will remain so. Dr. Evans has stepped away at 74 years of age to seek restoration. 

Dr. Evans confession at 74 is a sobering reminder that the Enemy is no respecter of age, career, years of service, titles, degrees, or size of ministry. The Enemy is seeking to devour ALL pastors and church leaders. He wants to steal, kill, and destroy every one of them including you and me.

Paul reminds us in Galatians 6:1 

Brothers,[a] if anyone is caught in any transgression, you who are spiritual should restore him in a spirit of gentleness. Keep watch on yourself, lest you too be tempted.

Sobering reminder!

Then a few days later Pastor Robert Morris from Gateway Church confessed to sexually abusing a 12-year-old girl 35 years ago. Pastor Morris was in his twenties, married, with a child, and chose to groom a little girl and sexually abuse her for years. Unfortunately, when the story came out five years later, the elder board of Pastor Morris didn’t report it to the police as a crime but chose to deal with it privately and after a couple of years restore him to pastoral ministry. 

We all know we are all broken (at least I hope you do) and in need of a Savior and Jesus is the only answer. Non-disclosure agreements for sex abuse victims in the church is not the answer. It compounds the problem, delays the healing, and complicates the future with the past. 

As a pastor, I continue to stand against pastors and churches who use NDAs to silence sex abuse victims. God is not okay with this practice in His churches. It also grieves me to see that the elder board of Pastor Morris many years ago ignored the criminal activity and even today the Gateway Church Elder Board is okay with calling Pastor Morris’s sex abuse simply a “moral failure” and allowing Pastor Morris to refer to this underage girl as a young lady which seems misleading and inaccurate. No twelve-year-old girl is a consenting participant in the sex abuse of a pastor who grooms them. 

God Almighty who created heaven and earth and sent His Son, Jesus, to die for us, is not okay with His church using NDAs to silence or attempt to silence sex abuse victims. It is my prayer that churches who have used NDAs regarding sex abuse victims will publicly repent of having done this in the past or in the present and vow never to do it again. God is not okay with this practice in His churches. 

The “amount” of time that has past and, in this case, 35 years, is irrelevant to God. The actions were offensive to God. The way it was handled was offensive to God and the way it is being portrayed now is offensive to God Almighty. 

Lord, as a pastor and leader for your church, I say, “Forgive us Lord and purify us, the leaders of your church. We are the shepherds of your sheep.  Don’t let us brush it off or sadly we will fall into a greater grievance in the days ahead. 

Sincerely,

Pastor Kelly 

Leave a comment